Curragh Open 2012

The first tournament of the season is now open for entries.

World Masters 2012 Results

Congratulations to the 23 Irish players who took part in the World Masters in Birmingham, and especially the 4 medallists.

Derek Ryan (Fitzwilliam) – Bronze medal in the o40′s
Willie Hosey (formerly Carlow, now Canada)- Gold medal in the o50′s
Barbara Sanderson (Ulster) – Gold medal in the o70′s
Laura Mylotte (Connacht) – Bronze medal in the o35′s

World Masters 2012

Best of luck to Leinsters Derek Ryan and Eoin Ryan who are heading over to the UK for the World Masters next week.

Derek is looking to defend his o40 title, while Eoin is moving up an age category into the o45.

Good luck guys

British Intercounty Championship 2012

Leinster Ladies promoted to Division 1 in the British Intercounty Championship

The Leinster senior ladies squash team travelled to Pontefract recently to take part in the British Intercounty Championships in Division Two. The team of Olivia French, Claire O’Brien, Jenny Dillon, Ciara Moloney and Niamh Brennan competed against Yorkshire, Worcestershire and Surrey.

The competition started on Saturday morning with a match against Worcestershire. Leinster came out on top with a 3/2 win. Next up was Yorkshire where the ladies had a convincing 5/0 victory. The decider on Sunday was always going to be a demanding match, and with very little recovery time, it was a daunting task. The Surrey team had been very impressive throughout the competition but with a massive team effort, the Leinster girls pulled through 3/2 in a nail-biting finish.

This result means that the Leinster team has gained promotion and next year will compete in Division One of the British Intercounty Championships.

Junior Nationals 2012

Congratulations and well done to all our 40 Leinster Juniors who travelled to Belfast last weekend for the Irish Junior Nationals 2012. We had some great matches with fantastic results. Well done and keep up the good work.

Boys Under 11
1. Conor Moran Leinster
2. Sam Buckley Leinster
3. Hugh Tobin Leinster

Boys Under 13
1. Luke Logan Leinster
2. Sean Dineen Leinster
3. Scott Gillanders Leinster

Boys Under 15
1. Oisin Dunne Leinster
2. Nikita Gilevskiy Leinster

Boys Under 17
1. Oisin Logan Leinster
2. Ciaran Maher
3. Cillian Dunne Leinster

Boys Under 19
1. Sean Conroy Leinster
2. Conor O Shea

Girls Under 11
1. Emma McGuagan
2. Alessia Osborne Leinster

Girls Under 13
1. Victoria White
2. Ellie McVeigh

Girls Under 15
1. Sinead Walsh
2. Stephanie Ryan Leinster

Girls Under 17
1. Breanne Flynn Leinster
2. Niamh O’Keefe Leinster
3. Griffin Gillanders Leinster

Girls Under 19
1. Elaine Ware Leinster
2. Victoria O’Donnell